Visualizing

Last week was a short week but we still worked very hard and hit some important reading concepts. One of the skills we learned about was visualizing. Visualizing is making a mental picture as  you read. It’s important to remember that these pictures change as we read more! We did two activities to practice visualizing, one of which really showed how our visualizations can change 🙂

I read the class the first half a poem called “My Neighbor’s Dog is Purple”. Here’s how it goes:

My neighbor’s dog is purple
It’s eyes are large and green
It’s tail is almost endless
The longest I have seen
My neighbor’s dog is quiet
It does not bark one bit
But when my neighbor’s dog is near
I feel afraid of it

We had privacy shields up and each child visualized what they heard and illustrated those picture on their paper. We shared our visualizations with our peers.

img_5792img_5793img_5795img_5794
Then, I finished the poem. Here it is in its entirety:
My neighbor’s dog is purple
It’s eyes are large and green
It’s tail is almost endless
The longest I have seen
My neighbor’s dog is quiet
It does not bark one bit
But when my neighbor’s dog is near
I feel afraid of it
My neighbor’s dog is nasty
It has a wicked smile
Before my neighbor painted it
It was a crocodile
🙂

The kids loved hearing the ending and they quickly realized that their first visualization changed a lot! Each child drew their new mental image and we discussed as a class how it changed.

The last activity we did was illustrating a story called ‘In The Tall, Tall Grass”. We listened to the story without seeing the pictures, drew what we visualized, and then compared our drawings to the illustrations from the book 🙂 See if your child can show you the picture that they visualized and drew!

 

Hope everyone had a great “snowy” weekend. We are working hard this week and I can’t wait to share some of the exciting things we are up to 🙂

Leave a Reply

